BOLEROS (2009)
part of the Sensual Musicology project
The concept behind this three part musical piece is very simple: four different versions of Maurice Ravel's Bolero played together, in full, for three times (each time they meet in a different point of the score).The three parts have the exact same duration (that of the longest version), approximately 15' each.

Boleros was made to be listened to - and enjoyed, especially by Bolero enthusiasts (and Minimal music fans): the consistency of tonality and the universal fame of this piece make it unique for this kind of rework. The result is very tonal music (tuning uniformity was one of the factors in the choice of versions): an iterative, fractal Bolero (a piece already based on repetition) which Steve Reich would probably call Bolero Phase.

Boleros (3' excerpt from the second movement)
from Maurice Ravel's Bolero
© by Sergio Messina (read the license)